X

History

Olympia was established in 1946, under the name ‘Zuivelfabriek van Herfelingen’.

Kamiel Van Impe's father acquired the company NV Saica (a butter production facility) and subsequently continued to grow the company through numerous acquisitions.

In 1991, together with his sons Marc and Luc Van Impe, he built a completely new factory for manufacturing PE bottles for UHT milk and cream. This attracted international customers and major dairy groups such as Lactalis, Danone and Friesland.

A brand-new desserts division was set up in 2003 and this constant expansion culminated in the construction of a tower for evaporated  milk in 2008.

After a devastating fire in the desserts division in 2012, an entirely new fresh food division was set up and investments were made in a production line for bag-in-box and bag-in-container products. Since 2015, we are on track to becoming the specialist in liquid ice-cream mixes and milkshakes.

Old dairy
Old dairy

Structure

Olympia is embedded within the family holding Pajot Dairy. The company's independence, in terms of purchase, processing and sales, is ensured by the diversified group structure.

Area

Land:
7 hectares
Surface area of buildings:
40.000 m2

Our company

OLYMPIA: A 100% Belgian family business

Olympia is one of the few family dairy farms our country can boast of. Among the increasingly larger international dairy groups, Olympia has succeeded in conquering a special place in the dairy market with its delicious, high-quality and functional products.

Each day, milk is collected from the provinces of Flemish and Walloon Brabant, East Flanders, Hainaut and Namur. Olympia collects about 75 million litres of milk from these 220 suppliers and annually processes about 100 million litres to produce a wide range of products: milk in glass and PE bottles, concentrated milk, fresh and long-life cream, butter, desserts, base for ice-cream preparations, etc. 

Fresh food division
Fresh food division

Olympia also manufactures products based on the specifications of industrial customers such as Danone, Lactalis and Campina. Besides the ‘Olympia’ brand, many private labels are also produced in Herfelingen: these are products with the customer's brand name on it, such as desserts for retail. Almost every supermarket chain in Belgium relies on Olympia for one or more fresh products.

The two brothers, Luc and Marc Van Impe, are continuing their father's legacy. The company philosophy is simple: by collecting the milk ourselves, we ensure a high-quality raw material, which we process into customer-focused, specific, and sometimes, unique end products.  

The brothers have also diversified their activities within the dairy market through the holding company Pajot Dairy. In addition to the OLYMPIA brand, the PAJOT DAIRY group includes of BHA (specialised in the trading of all kinds of powder mixes), DHR (a milk collection company established in a joint venture structure with Danone Belgium), VITALAC (primarily known for its delicious Chocovit drinking chocolate bottles) and SUPEFRA (fillings for the bakery sector). Recently, the subsidiaries Olympia-Italia and GELATARIUM (both based in Italy) were established, with a view to developing various ice-cream markets in Europe.

The annual turnover of Olympia is approximately EUR 71 million. The company continuously strives to achieve a stable balance between industrial and non-industrial products. More than 30% of the turnover is invested in exports, mainly UHT cream.

Olympia employs 170 people, many of whom live and work in the Pajottenland region.

Our company looks forward to the future with full confidence, with due respect for sustainability and a long-term vision. Various processes are in place to ensure that we consume less energy and use water resources sparingly.  The core of our philosophy continues to be: innovation and growth!

Quality

“As food producer, quality and food safety are of high priority for Olympia. This is why each step in the production process is described in detail and the risks identified based on the HACCP principle. Our own laboratory carries out daily analyses on raw materials, semi-finished products and finished products. The Quality Department ensures that all documents are kept up-to-date and that the quality system is continuously improved. Recently, these efforts were affirmed when we successfully obtained various certifications such as IFS, ISO and ACS. As a customer, you can rely on Olympia to provide a safe and high-quality product.”

At present, we have high-level certifications in:

Team

Our permanent team consists of 170 people.    In addition, we work with approximately 30 temporary employees.

top

X

Historique

Olympia voit le jour en 1946, à l’époque sous le nom de  « Laiterie d’Herfelingen ». Le père de Kamiel Van Impe rachète la SA Saica (beurrerie) et développe l’entreprise grâce à de nombreux rachats.

En 1991, Kamiel Van Impe construit avec ses fils Luc et Marc une toute nouvelle usine qui fabrique des bouteilles PE pour le lait et la crème UHT. Ils attirent ainsi des clients internationaux et de grands groupes laitiers comme Lactalis, Friesland et Danone.

Un tout nouveau département dessert est créé en 2003 et l’expansion constante de l’entreprise est couronnée par la construction en 2008 d’un silo pour le lait concentré en 2008.

Après un incendie dévastateur en 2012 dans le département dessert, un tout nouveau département frais est créé et l’entreprise investit dans une ligne de production pour bag in box et bag in container.

Depuis 2015, nous sommes en passe de devenir le spécialiste en mélanges liquides pour glaces et milkshakes.

Ancienne laiterie
Ancienne laiterie

Structure

Olympia est profondément ancrée au sein de la holding familiale Pajot Dairy. L’indépendance de l’entreprise, tant au niveau des achats et de la transformation que des ventes, est garantie par la structure diversifiée du groupe.

Site

Terrain:
7 hectares
Superficie des bâtiments:
40 000 m2

Notre entreprise

OLYMPIA: une société familiale 100% Belge

Olympia est l’une des dernières laiteries familiales que compte encore notre pays. Parmi les groupes laitiers internationaux toujours de plus en plus grands, Olympia est parvenue à conquérir une place particulière sur le marché des produits laitiers grâce à des produits délicieux, de grande qualité et fonctionnels.

Chaque jour, le lait est récolté dans les provinces du Brabant flamand et wallon, de Flandre orientale, du Hainaut et de Namur. Olympia collecte environ 75 millions de lait chez ces 220 fournisseurs et transforme chaque année environ 100 millions de litres en une gamme étendue de produits : lait en bouteilles verre et PE, lait concentré, crème fraîche et longue conservation, beurre, desserts, bases pour préparations glacées.

Département frais
Département frais

Olympia fabrique également des produits selon les cahiers des charges de clients industriels tels que Danone, Campina ou Lactalis. Parallèlement à la marque Olympia, on produit aussi à Herfelingen de nombreux labels privés : des produits qui portent la marque du client, par exemple des desserts pour la distribution. Pratiquement toutes les chaînes de grands magasins de Belgique font appel à Olympia pour un ou plusieurs produits frais.

Les deux frères, Luc et Marc Van Impe, poursuivent le travail de toute une vie de leur père. La philosophie de l’entreprise est simple : se charger soi-même de la collecte du lait afin de garantir une matière première de très grande qualité et la transformer en produits finaux adaptés aux souhaits des clients, spécifiques et parfois uniques.  

À partir de leur société holding Pajot Dairy, les deux frères se sont aussi diversifiés sur le marché des produits laitiers. Outre OLYMPIA, le groupe PAJOT DAIRY se compose de BHA (spécialisée dans le trading de tous types de mélanges en poudre), DHR (une société de collecte de lait dans une structure de joint venture avec Danone Belgique), VITALAC  (surtout connue pour ses petites bouteilles de délicieux lait chocolaté Chocovit). Récemment, les filiales Olympia-Italia et GELATARIUM (ayant toutes deux leur siège en Italie) ont été fondées pour le développement de différents marchés de la glace en Europe.

Le chiffre d’affaires annuel d’Olympia s’élève à 71 millions d’euros environ. L’entreprise veille en permanence à maintenir un équilibre stable entre les produits industriels et non industriels. Plus de 30 % du chiffre d’affaires sont réalisés à l’exportation, cela concerne surtout la crème UHT.

Olympia emploie 170 personnes, qui sont nombreuses à habiter et vivre dans le Pajottenland.

Notre entreprise est pleinement confiante pour l’avenir et tient compte de la durabilité et d’une vision à long terme. Différents processus nous permettent de consommer moins d’énergie et d’eau. Le cœur de notre philosophie reste l’innovation et la croissance !

Qualité

« En tant que producteur, Olympia  accorde une très grande importance à la qualité et à la sécurité alimentaire. C’est pourquoi chaque étape de la production est décrite et les risques ont fait l’objet d’une analyse selon le principe HACCP. Notre propre laboratoire effectue chaque jour des analyses à la fois sur les matières premières, les produits semi-finis et les produits finis. Le département qualité veille à ce que tous les documents soient actualisés en permanence et à ce que le système qualité soit constamment amélioré. Ces efforts ont été récompensés par l’obtention de différents certificats tels que IFS, ISO et ACS. En tant que client, vous pouvez être assuré qu’Olympia vous fournit un produit sûr et de grande qualité. »

Pour l’instant, nous sommes certifiés au plus haut niveau en :

Équipe

Notre équipe fixe compte 170 personnes. Nous faisons en outre appel à une trentaine de collaborateurs temporaires.

top